Hello

ChaseCentral

Professional Ass-Kicker
Hey folks, I'm new to this board, but I post on NT Compatible.

I'm a senior network administrator/engineer for the DOD. I have a question for all those that are in the "know".

I'm currently in the process of building a VPN to connect my family's computers to my network. I use DSL, and can't seem to get a clear answer from Qwest as to what Cisco router series I can use for my premise router into my LAN. I know about the Cisco 675 and 678, but I'm not interested in them because they do not afford the CLI or security with ACL's that I'm looking for. Does anyone know if the 1400-series will successfully connect to the Qwest DSL lines without any other equipment? I really don't want to have to get a little crappy 675 or 678 as the entry point to my LAN. Any one have experience in this arena?

Thanks!

Ben
:smash:

fury

Administrator
Staff member
That's way ahead of my extremely limited experience, but I can say welcome!

Enjoy your stay, stay as long as you like, and I hope you like it here! ;)

We've got a few network engineers lurking around here, I'm sure you will get your answer shortly :)

Huge

Holla if you hear me!
Staff member
Welcome to the boards!

Don't know how helpful this will be to you but I really couldn't find anything (yet) on the web.

[quoteurl=http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/pcat/1400.htm]The Cisco 1400 series is a new generation of DSL routers-powered by Cisco IOS software, for small and medium-sized businesses and small branch offices of enterprises.

The Cisco 1400 series offers high-speed internet and intranet access with advanced security, high quality-of-service, ease-of-use, and management. The Cisco 1400 series is a key part of Cisco`s comprehensive end-to-end DSL networking solutions.